Searching for Supper

This is a felt painting that’s a little different from my usual bright ones, but I really like the moody colours and sunlight hitting the bird.

The gull was needle-felted separately onto another piece of thin felt then cut out and placed on the background. The brighter whites are bamboo fibre and the swirls in the sea are pieces of mohair yarn.  This one came together whilst I was at my local monthly craft group and I think most of it was done subconsciously because I was a real motor-mouth that day and we all laughed and chatted and ate whilst working. A good thing because it wasn’t over-worked.

Kelp Gull Wool Art

Kelp Gull Felted

12 thoughts on “Searching for Supper

  1. Hello Liz

    Love your felt work i discovered today,but, could you please tell me, you placed a seagull before or after you wet felting the backgroung?Thanks a lot!

    • Hi Rosa, thanks for the comment. I needle felted the seagull separately on a piece of pre-felt then needle felted it onto background. The background was not wet felted, just heavily needle felted. Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

