King Island Sunset Felt Painting

This one was a challenge and I could not get it right.  Can’t count the number of times I put fleece on then took fleece off. The photos don’t reflect that, but they show how different it finished up after some playing.

Here is the finished item:

Felt painting of King Island

Finished

Here is the process:

Stage 1 of felt landscape painting

Fleece layered and lightly wet felted

Stage 2 of felt painting of King Island sunset

Some needle felting and embroidery. Note the cottage

Now, when I look back, part of me likes the above image before I had to mess with it, especially the sky and sea, although the house looks kind of cutsey.  The tree in the foreground is wrong . Anyway, it is now framed (without the cottage).  Honest feedback much appreciated.  You know when you work on something so long and can no longer be objective in assessing your own work? That’s me.  Help needed!!!

7 thoughts on “King Island Sunset Felt Painting

  1. How Lovely Liz and such a gift you have. To be honest I prefer the quieter more subtle tone of the unfinished work, but that could also have a lot to do with how it portrayed on this small computer screen. I look forward to actually ‘seeing’ it, I’m sure you have finished it in the best way. Congratulations!!

  2. For me, the tree seems to blend into the background as the values seem to be very similar. I like it without the cottage but I liked the sky better in the bottom photo. What don’t you like about the tree? What is it that really draws your eye when you first look at it again? Do you have light, medium and dark values? Is your eye drawn throughout the piece naturally or is something holding it up? What would you change if you did it over again?

  3. Thank you ladies for your comments. You are both right. The lightness of the first one creates more depth in the shadows of the hills. The tree looks neither here nor there – doesn’t make a statement. Another lesson in tonal composition. Helps to see it through others eyes. Thank you

  4. That’s gorgeous, Liz 🙂
    I like it without the cottage too. I like both skies. I think the angle of the ‘Fleece layered and lightly wet felted’ photo gives the whole piece a blue tint, so the sky there does match, but in the top photo it’s more to the red/purple shades of the spectrum, so the sky suits it.

Leave a Reply

